Mayor and commissioners take oath of office

Anna Maria swearing in Murphy
Dan Murphy is sworn into his third term as Anna Maria’s mayor. - Joe Hendricks | Sun

ANNA MARIA – During the Thursday, Nov. 29, organizational meeting. City Clerk LeAnne Addy administered the oath of office to Anna Maria Mayor Dan Murphy and city commissioners Amy Tripp and Brian Seymour.

All three incumbent city officials ran unopposed in the recent city elections and will serve additional two-year terms in office.

Anna Maria swearing in Seymour
Brian Seymour is sworn into his second term as a commissioner. – Joe Hendricks | Sun

After the swearing-in ceremonies, Tripp nominated Seymour to serve as the commission chair, and the commission unanimously supported the nomination. Seymour will serve as commission chair for one year and Commissioner Carol Carter will serve as vice-chair.

Anna Maria swearing in Tripp
Amy Tripp is sworn into her first full term as a commissioner. She served a partial term after being appointed in February. – Joe Hendricks | Sun

“I’m very honored that Commissioner Tripp nominated me. I’m happy to learn from the staff and the mayor and continue to grow my knowledge of the operations and execution of the city priorities,” Seymour said after the meeting.

Commissioner Doug Copeland served as commission chair for the past three years. Copeland, Carter and Dale Woodland have one more year remaining in their current commission terms.