Bellamy, Servia and Whitmore win primary races

Manatee Primary
Tuesday was primary election day in Manatee County. - Joe Hendricks | Sun

Incumbent Manatee County Commissioner Carol Whitmore won her primary race, incumbent Commissioner Charles Smith lost his and Misty Servia won the District 4 Republican primary contest.

Primary Bellamy
Reggie Bellamy unseated his incumbent opponent. – Submitted

Reggie Bellamy received 2,178 votes (52.16 percent) and Smith received 1,998 votes (47.84 percent).

Running unopposed, Demitrie Denis won the Republican District 2 primary and he will face Bellamy in the general election in November.

In the race to fill departing Commissioner Robin DiSabatino’s District 4 seat, Misty Servia defeated Mark Black and Laurie Galle in the Republican primary.

Servia received 2,668 votes (55.5 percent), Black received 1,161 votes (24.15 percent) and Galle received 978 votes (20.35 percent).

Primary Servia
Misty Servia won her Republican primary. – Submitted

Melton Little ran unopposed in the Democratic primary and he will face Servia in the general election.

In the District 6 at-large race, incumbent commissioner and Anna Maria Island resident Carol Whitmore won her Republican primary race, defeating challenger James Satcher.

Whitmore received 21,274 votes (55.61 percent) and Satcher claimed 16,979 votes (44.39 percent). Whitmore will now face independent candidate Candace Luther in the general election.

“I’m happy that I still have the support of the Manatee County citizens and I look forward to winning the general election,” Whitmore said after the results were known.

Primary Whitmore
Island resident Carol Whitmore won her Republican primary. – Submitted

In the gubernatorial primaries, Manatee County voters favored Democrat Gwen Graham and Republican Ron DeSantis, with DeSantis as the leading gubernatorial vote-getter in the county.

Complete primary election results here.