Sun earns 17 awards


The Anna Maria Island Sun has earned 17 awards in the Florida Press Club’s 66th Excellence in Journalism Competition, including five first place trophies for opinion writing, breaking news photography, feature photography, sports photography and cartooning.

Florida Press Club

The awards, presented at Hotel Indigo in Sarasota on Saturday, Nov. 4 are:

Opinion Writing

Mike Field, 1st place, The ‘Big M’

Mike Field, 3rd place, The mayors have it right

Breaking News Photography

Tom Vaught, 1st place, Soggy Monday Blues

Mike Field, 2nd place, Red tide continues to plague AMI

Tom Vaught, 3rd place, First day of school

Feature Photography

Maggie Field, 1st place, Silver Sunset

Maggie Field, 2nd place, Meltdown

Joe Sambito, 3rd place, Holiday Moon

Sports Action Photography

Monica Simpson, 1st place, Redemption


Steve Borggren, 1st place, Beautiful sunrise

Steve Borggren, 2nd place, Brick road

Steve Borggren, 3rd place, Ghost tour

Special Awards – That is so… Florida

Cindy Lane, 2nd place, Eat more octopus


Government News Writing

Kristin Swain, 2nd place, Turn back time

Headline Writing

Mike Field, 2nd place, Houndfish

Pat Copeland, 3rd place, Pooh-pooh


Front Page Design

Ricardo Fonseca, 3rd place, Rays