Incumbents sweep Anna Maria elections

Anna Maria Elections Carter Wins
Anna Maria Commissioner Carol Carter was one of three incumbents to get reelected. - Joe Hendricks | Sun

ANNA MARIA – Anna Maria voters want incumbent City Commissioners Carol Carter, Doug Copeland and Dale Woodland to serve additional two-year terms in office, as first-time candidate Laurie Jo Higgins fell short in her bid to claim one of the three open commission seats.

Carter was the leading vote getter, receiving 331 votes and 29.45 percent of the votes cast in the city election that began with mail voting in early October and ended at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 7. Those who did not vote by mail voted in person Tuesday at the Roser Memorial Community Church.

Woodland finished second with 317 votes and 28.20 percent of the vote. Copeland finished third with 305 votes and 27.14 percent of the vote.

In her first run for elected office, Higgins received 171 votes and 15.21 percent of the votes cast.

Carter said she is “thrilled that the voters realize that I am their champion for the peaceful enjoyment of their homes and will work to ensure Home Rule will dominate.”

Carter and Copeland were elected to their third terms in office. Woodland was elected to his seventh.

The commission is rounded out by Brian Seymour and Nancy Yetter. Their current terms expire in 2018, along with two-term mayor Dan Murphy.

City Clerk LeAnne Addy said on Tuesday she was still in the process of determining a date and time for the swearing-in ceremonies that will be held at Anna Maria City Hall.