Sun wins 14 awards

The Anna Maria Island Sun has earned 14 awards in the Florida Press Club’s 66th Excellence in Journalism Competition; specific awards will be announced at an awards banquet on Saturday, Nov. 4 in Sarasota. Staff members to be recognized at the event are:

Steve Borggren, Illustration

Pat Copeland, Headline Writing (2)

Maggie Field, Feature Photography

Mike Field, Breaking News Photography, Feature Photography, Headline Writing (2), Opinion Writing

Ricardo Fonseca, Front Page Design

Cindy Lane, Special Award – That is so… Florida

Monica Simpson, Sports Action Photography

Kristin Swain, Government News Writing

Tom Vaught, Breaking News Photography